PDA

View Full Version : Aikido vs Krav Maga?

Please visit our sponsor:

john2226
01-12-2003, 10:32 AM
I got to thinking about this. I put a post on another forum about this and got little response. I thought if I try it here it would get more input. Now this post isnt Aikido VS KM. Not the way it seems anyway. Im new at aikido and am interested in all martial arts and defense systems. Aikido is what I choose however. anyway a lot of KM people swear its the best thing going. They also say that Aikido and other MA's take years to learn and use effectively. They also say aikido might not work if someone is to aggressive or has any traing in fighting of their own. Now I dont believe that. Aikido is meant to use aggression against the agressor. The more aggressive they are the worse it is for them. They also say you can learn and apply KM in 10 to 12 weeks. That seems like a very short time to learn something. I havent tried it though so i cant say for sure.Im not saying one is better than the other. It seems many people who train in KM think it is the best. What are you thoughts on all of this?

Lyle Bogin
01-12-2003, 10:44 AM
KM is good, basic self defense. A civilian version of military training. It's good to know.

Kevin Wilbanks
01-12-2003, 01:00 PM
All that 'best' talk sounds like promotional hype to me. It's comparing "apples and oranges", each is a different type of endeavor for different purposes. Aikido is a complex and subtle art that takes a lifetime to master, and there can be way more to it than fighting and self defense if you choose to explore it. KM, on the other hand, appears to be a simple, efficient method of learning to hurt people really badly in the minimum amount of time.

bob_stra
01-12-2003, 01:35 PM
anyway a lot of KM people swear its the best thing going.
So, basically, you're saying that J.Lo is now a bad ass having studied KM? ;-)

(show of hands - does that stroke anyone's devious erotic fantasies or what? ;-)