AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   One more iwamaivanovo! (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10593)

Paberu 07-01-2006 02:53 PM

One more iwamaivanovo!

Hi all, one more iwama style aikido in Russia video clip!
http://www.iwamaivanovo.ru/video/rbi_oyowaza.wmv

Good luck!

aikigirl10 07-01-2006 04:31 PM

Re: One more iwamaivanovo!

To me, it seems a little more choppy than the aikido i take, (which is traditional aikikai). There are long pauses in some of the techniques used, which makes it seem less effective, but on the other hand, it also seems more aggressive. Of course, i have no experience with this style of aikido so i really wouldn't know.

sullivanw 07-01-2006 08:42 PM

Cool to watch; it looks pretty hardcore. With my ukemi skills, I would end up being broken little pieces of Will all over the stage!!

-Will

Mark Uttech 07-01-2006 09:13 PM

I can just imagine the commentary at a sign language convention/seminar: "the signing of certain words was too choppy, the pauses between expressions were most unusual..." Hikisutchie Shihan put it rather bluntly one day: "When you see good aikido, you automatically know what bad aikido is..."

aikigirl10 07-01-2006 09:17 PM

Quote:

Mark Uttech wrote:
I can just imagine the commentary at a sign language convention/seminar: "the signing of certain words was too choppy, the pauses between expressions were most unusual..." Hikisutchie Shihan put it rather bluntly one day: "When you see good aikido, you automatically know what bad aikido is..."

wow, that sounded a little rude.... i even said i dont know much about this style... sorry i said anything...

villrg0a 07-02-2006 04:16 AM

Quote:

Paige Frazier wrote: