PDA

View Full Version : A difficult transition?

Please visit our sponsor:

Aikidoiain
09-12-2004, 10:11 AM
I began training in Martial Arts age 12, I am now 41. Over the years I've trained in various styles, but only once in a dojo.

My first Style was Shotokan Karate. I studied from a book and practiced on friends! At 16 I got fed up with Karate and did a bit of Judo with a friend who already knew his stuff. I liked it, and learned a lot.

Later still, I met a musician friend who was expert in several styles. He showed me his various ones. I tried Kung Fu for a while, but it didn't feel right, nor did TKD or any of the kicking stuff he showed me. Then suddenly he introduced me to Aikido - I took to it instantly. By now I'd become so used to training outside a dojo environment that I seemed to learn really fast. We would role play actual fight scenarios and that's how I learned.

It got to the stage where my Aikido skills were above his! At this time I started to investigate Tomiki Aikido, and bought some videos by Dr. Ah Loi Lee. I was hooked!!! During the next 10 or so years I would constantly meet new training partners and we would continue with the "reality testing" way of training.

I've already mentioned my real life encounters in another thread, so no need to repeat myself.

I did join a Hapkido club for a while but had to leave due to serious health problems. Then I started training in Aiki-Jujitsu, which worked well with the Aikido. By now I felt I had developed my own style of self-defense and began to teach friends.

Soon I intend to join the local Aikikai-Aikido club. This will be my first time in an Aikido dojo environment. How do I make the transition from what I already know (over 25 years worth) to become a beginner in a proper dojo?

Iain.

Qatana
09-12-2004, 11:10 AM
Forget Everything you Think you know about aikido.

Christian
09-12-2004, 12:30 PM