PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Respectable Dojo in Houston

Please visit our sponsor:

Halcyon13
08-10-2004, 09:22 AM
Hi everyone,
I was a combat instructor for the Marines for a few years and I was exposed to many forms of martial arts. However, I always enjoyed Aikido the most, I got out of the military last year and have been doing work as a commercial diver until recently. I now have much more free time and would like to study Aikido. I have looked around the Houston area and found a few dojos and have watched a few classes, but only having a rudementary knowledge of Aikido I can't judge by that. Does anyone have a reccommendation as to who to talk to or train with or even who to stay away from? Thanks a lot.

Robert Cheshire
08-10-2004, 09:30 AM
A lot of it will depend on what type/style of aikido you're interested in. There are schools in Houston that focus on more of the spiritual benefits/side of aikido and there are some that are more, for lack of a better word, combative. For instances, we have a Yoseikan instructor who lives in Houston and is starting back into teaching (he works for the HFD as an EMT). Yoseikan was founded by Minoru Mochizuki, one of the "pre-war" students, and is a bit more combative than some other styles.

I've heard good things in general from other schools down there as well. Let us know what you might be looking for and maybe we can point you in that direction.

Greg Jennings
08-10-2004, 09:42 AM
Some advice:

o The capability and attitude of the senior students will tell you a lot.

o Belittling students, crunching junior students, lots of students with obvious injuries, and copping a 'tude are all black marks in my book.

o There is a very wide range of aikido in your area. What's right for you won't be right for someone else.

Regards,

aikidoc
08-10-2004, 10:13 AM
Check out Jorge Garcia at Shudokan Aikido.

cguzik
08-10-2004, 11:46 AM
www.shinkikan.com

Chuck.Gordon
08-10-2004, 01:18 PM
Michael McLaren said: