PDA

View Full Version : Flat spot

Please visit our sponsor:

kensparrow
03-24-2003, 10:54 AM
Hopefully someone out there can help me with this:

I've been doing aikido for about 10 months now and I'm very comfortable with ukemi. The problem is that the outside of my knee of my folded leg seems to hit the mat as I'm coming out of a forward roll. This tends to make noise and with enough rolling, makes my knees sore. I've watched and asked students with really good ukemi but no one has been able to give me any suggestions for fixing this (most people dimiss this as a minor problem but I'm a perfectionist and I also worry about the sore knees). Anyway, I'm hoping someone has had the same problem and can give me some advice.

Thanks

Ta Kung
03-24-2003, 11:03 AM
Hi!

I don't have the exact same "problem" as you. My foot hits the tatami when I do forward rolls, and this makes a sound. My more senior friends don't make this sound when rolling. It's not uncomfortable or anything, but I am also a perfectionist (when it comes to Aikido anyway), so it bothers me a bit.

The only help I have for you, is the same as I was adviced. Try rolling really slow. When I do that, I tuck in my foot better, and there is no "slap" against the mat. Maybe this can help you improve your ukemi aswell? It has helped me a lot. Give it a try. See if you do anything different when you go slow.

Regards,

Patrik

ikkainogakusei
03-25-2003, 10:08 AM
Hopefully someone out there can help me with this:

The problem is that the outside of my knee of my folded leg seems to hit the mat as I'm coming out of a forward roll. This tends to make noise and with enough rolling, makes my knees sore.

Thanks
Hi Ken,

It's a little tough for me to picture exactly what you are talking about but have you noticed anyone else doing what you are doing?