PDA

View Full Version : Effectiveness and Insolence

Please visit our sponsor:

Michael Owen
02-25-2003, 11:19 AM
As a new aikido student I find this site to be an excellent resource for consulting more experienced aikidoka on various topics. However, I find that when new aikido students ask about effectiveness or "are there any defenses against..." that they are treated by many of their seniors as insolent children who are accused of being only interested in getting into fights. I find this very troubling. It is one thing if the student asks how to break a femur, but it is another to ask about a DEFENSE. With as many people who take "hard" martial arts for the sole purpose of hurting others I think the desire to know how do defend against kicks or other attacks not generally addressed is very legitimate. Why should these be treated differently from the waza we learn against punches or grabs?

ikkainogakusei
02-25-2003, 01:57 PM
Hi Michael,

Thanks for framing this question as you have. It allows us to address the forum rather than the unending debate itself. I think it happens in this manner because there are two significant mind-sets and some people believe in only one or the other. There are still others who find a synthesis, but they don't necessarily find it important to get involved in this discussion.

If one were to begin to examine O'Sensei's discussion of "The Art of Peace" you might see that it accents on the nonviolent. This is taken to heart by many aikidoka. Yet we are practicing a martial art, by it's very nature it has the potential for violence, how do we reconcile the two? Everyone comes to their own conclusion, and in doing so, sometimes they find an aiki-community that helps reinforce that conclusion.