PDA

View Full Version : To Rough?

Please visit our sponsor:

DavidM
07-02-2002, 02:23 AM
During class we are instructed to practice a technique with a partner. Being that my class is over half Yudansha,it's VERY intimidating for me...plus everyone is WAY bigger then me, I'm only 6'and 120lbs but I continue to train. Recently I have encountered one Yudansha, who is about 6'2 and 250, and insists on being very rough with me. Most of the time I don't mind it because I learn better and faster under severe pressure, for my safety really. But there are times when it's totally uncalled for.

I'm new to Aikido, only about 3 months of training.

While practicing Kokyo Nage with this Yudansha, I did the throw incorrect, and he grabbed my Gi and threw me many feet into the air, while I landed flat on my back...and got in my face to yell at me what I did wrong.

I'm not the only one he does this too...so I know he just don't wanna pick on me.

My question is how do I go about resolving this...and also, does anyone else encounter this kinda problem in your dojo?

Thanks
David

mike lee
07-02-2002, 02:33 AM
It sounds like your teacher likes you. If he didn't like you he would probably ignore you. At least that's one way of looking at this situation.

Another is this: I've trained with a number of shihan over the years, and I've never seen them act in such a way. Does that tell you something?;)

Bronson
07-02-2002, 02:40 AM
Hi David,

Have you asked him to lighten up on the intensity a little? Sounds simple but sometimes it works. This can be a touchy subject depending on how your dojo works. If it continues to be a problem I'd definitely talk with your sensei about it if possible.

If he gets in your face and yells again smile and say your sorry but you couldn't hear him, and could he say it again only louder this time. Keep doing that until everyone is staring at him. Ok, maybe you shouldn't do that but it helps to think about it sometimes evileyes

Bronson

Bronson