PDA

View Full Version : Visiting foreign dojos

Please visit our sponsor:

azrielg
12-21-2010, 03:49 PM
I've been practicing aikido for only a few weeks (training in some way every day). I've been told that I'm advancing quickly, but obviously I am a complete newb. Now I'm home for the holidays in Los Angeles and I want to do some training. However, I'm not sure what the typical etiquette is regarding dropping in as a visitor for a few sessions, particularly as a beginner and with respect to crossing aikido divisions (there are no direct affiliate dojos in los angeles).

I've found a non-profit aikikai dojo in West LA that ostensibly welcomes visitors, but I'm concerned that being a beginner visitor might not be as welcome as a more experienced one because beginners are more of a burden. Maybe I'm over thinking it... I really just want to continue learning.

advice, onegaishimasu!

Azriel

Russ Q
12-21-2010, 04:12 PM
Over thinking it for sure. Just go. Remember you are representing your teacher though so make sure you mind your manners:-)

Cheers,

Russ

Dan Rubin
12-21-2010, 04:53 PM
Check the dojo's schedule and show up for a beginner class. You'll learn something even if you're past where they're at, and you can find out if you'll be welcome in a more advanced class.

ninjaqutie
12-21-2010, 04:58 PM
I second the above idea. Go to a beginner class and just be up front that you haven't been training long. I am sure they would love to have you on the mat and if they think you are ready, I'm sure they will invite you to other classes. Have fun!

odudog
12-21-2010, 05:08 PM
Drop in train. Let them know that you are new to the art and what affiliation/style you currently practice so that they will understand where you are coming from in case of questions or hardship in doing something. Also, I think your dojo is ASU affiliated. Here are the ASU dojos in L.A.

Dojo Glendale Aikikai (single)
Distance: 6 miles (North of los angeles, CA)