PDA

View Full Version : Aikido and Yoga

Please visit our sponsor:

YogaRen
04-23-2009, 02:43 PM
If this issue has been addressed before, please kindly point me in the right direction :)

I am a yoga teacher, and I am looing into pursuing Aikibudo. Does anyone have any insights into this? Any yogis or yoginis out there who have begun their Aiki training? I'm curious to find the links/connections as well as the differences between the two arts.

Thanks

Ron Tisdale
04-23-2009, 02:59 PM
If you look down at the bottom of the page you will see a section which lists "similar threads". It has topics like:

Zazen necessary for training
What makes Aikido aikido (to you)?
Aikido and Yoga
aikido & yoga sutra
Aikido and pregnancy

Personally, if you are good at yoga, I think your body will be in excellent condition for aikido.

Best,
Ron (I stink at yoga worse than aikido, but I like it)

wideawakedreamer
04-23-2009, 08:06 PM
Yeah, your flexibility is going to come in handy.

YogaRen
04-24-2009, 06:56 AM
Thanks!!!

Seems like my yoga is going to help quite a bit.

Namaste.

Alex Megann
04-24-2009, 08:23 AM
Hi Karen,

Welcome to aiki and the Aikiweb!

I have a feeling that the type of yoga training you have done may make a difference, as well as the emphasis of the aikibudo training you take up (actually I have to admit that I'm not really sure what "aikibudo" is!).

I am now 47, and have been training in Aikikai aikido for about thirty years now and practising yoga for twelve or thirteen years. For the first ten years or so I found the yoga helped in increasing my body awareness and in informing the stretching I do in aikido classes.