PDA

View Full Version : Nonsense on the forums

Please visit our sponsor:

marlon10
01-21-2009, 08:36 AM
I am new to Aikido but I have to say that I can't believe some of the things I read on here. I really enjoy the intelligent and open-minded discussions that go on here for the most part but it's the silly one's that just get in the way and force you to have to dig through all the crap.

For instance the Aikido vs. "insert style here" threads. These are so stupid. I read where if you find yourself faced against a filipino stick fighter you should run.

This is such a stupid topic to even bring up. If you are faced with anyone wielding a weapon you should run if you can. The question is how many fights do most people really get in during the course of their lives, unless you look for fights and as Aikido practitioners we should be doing our best to avoid such situations.

Second what are the chances of being in a fight against a trained stick fighter or anyone seriously dedicated to the Martial Arts. The chances are pretty slim.

Plus the argument is dumb because there are infinite possibilities. If you face an experienced knife fighter who has three black belts what can Aikido do? These are pointless scenarios.

Marc Abrams
01-21-2009, 08:51 AM
Marlon:

Thank You for Sharing!

Marc Abrams

Ron Tisdale
01-21-2009, 09:50 AM
It's good to see a newbie with so much common sense! Welcome.

Best,
Ron

ChrisHein
01-21-2009, 09:52 AM
If your chances of getting in a fight are slim (to which I agree with you) Why train in martial arts at all?

Forget the weapon, if you are going to get into any kind of fight, shouldn't you simply run or walk away?

Why train martial techniques at all? It's unlikely we will get in a fight, and good sense tells us to leave if one brakes out.

We should just stop training in martial methods....
If you want to be completely logical about it.

marlon10
01-21-2009, 10:12 AM
Chris,