PDA

View Full Version : who represents their shihans well

Please visit our sponsor:

rob_liberti
05-28-2008, 10:55 PM
I was reading a thread which turned to a discussion about Shoji Nishio. Who are his students that represent his teachings well?

Is there a place where I can go look up the main students of each shihan? Is there a list of what the junior teachers in each line tend to look like?

I have limited experience with Nishio sensei style aikido. Unfortunately, the folks I saw doing that kind of aikido didn't impress me that much becuase it seemed that the uke's were having to pretend that nage was holding a sword- instead of nage's mental intention being so strong that the ukes would react as if the nage were holding a sword. However, I probably just saw some very junior practicioners.

Rib

Stefan Stenudd
05-29-2008, 06:10 AM
Well, I practiced for Nishio sensei and tried to understand his aikido for a couple of decades. There are definitely lots of people who pracitced more for him, and understood more.
His aikido was a very complex and advanced system, making anybody feel like a beginner, whatever other aikido experience they had.

There are some of his senior students travelling the world, teaching aikido - more or less according to his principles. Some of them don't agree with each other about it. Well, that happens.

I guess that the best to start with, is to watch films of Nishio sensei himself. For example, I put a set of five videos from a seminar he had in my dojo on YouTube. Here is the first one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEZWojpNnao

About Nishio sensei's tegatana (hand-sword), I can tell you that it worked excellently on me :)
He talked about atemi-no-kokyu, which I would guess was a way of emphasizing that any atemi must be done with distinct spirit, and also that if done so, it definitely creates a reaction in uke.

Peter Goldsbury
05-29-2008, 07:11 AM