PDA

View Full Version : What are your chances?

Please visit our sponsor:

wildaikido
09-04-2007, 08:20 AM
A lot of recent threads (and past threads) have been about Aikido and BJJ, or the effectiveness of Aikido. As a scientist and mathematician I would like to present some facts, and not just opinions, as to what you can expect in a real world situation.

Having said that, the numbers I am present are averages for Australia as a country. Your own individual awareness will have to make judgement calls about the street your on, or the suburb you are in. As I like to say, the point of Budo training is to develop awareness.

I have previously posted some information for females, and it went un-replied. So first I would like to restate them.

As a female you are most likely to be assaulted between the age of 15 to 24 (~42% of all incidences), and then between the age of 25 and 44(~29% of all incidences), by a family member (~42% of all incidences), or someone she knows in general (~81% of all incidences), in a home (~58% of all incidences). The number of offenders is most like to be one (82.2% of all incidences). The fact that she is being assaulted by someone she knows suggests that in these cases it would be more be even more likely to be one.

As a male you are most likely to be assaulted between the age of 15 to 24 (~40% of all incidences), then 25 to 44 (~28% of all incidences) buy a stranger (~51%), not in a home (~70%). Here are the important numbers for us in Aikido! A guy is most likely to be assaulted by ONE person at 65.8%. Then by THREE OR MORE 18.0% of the time and finally by TWO 13.4% of the time.

Assault is usually a crime of response (specifically for males). That is, something happens to cause the assault. But that does not make these statistics any less important. What may be more relevant is statistics for robberies, such as muggings.