PDA

View Full Version : New to Forum and Interested in Aikido

Please visit our sponsor:

jurat13
08-03-2007, 06:21 PM
Hi Everyone,

My name is Walter Boyd. I am new to this forum, and I reside in the Washington DC Metropolitan area. About 10 years ago, I studied Muay Thai for two years under the Jeet Kune Do system. Now at 31, I am interested in learning and art that does not predominantly rely on brawn.

I hope to reach out to everyone to help me learn more about Daito-Ryu Aikijujutsu, Roppokai Aikijujutsu, Yoshinkan Aikido, Tomiki Aikido, and Ki based Aikido.

Best regards,

Walter Boyd

Paul Sanderson-Cimino
08-03-2007, 08:39 PM
Daito-ryu: Mixed bag. Some people think it has the good stuff from the "old days". On the other hand, my impression is that it's not as well-regulated as aikido (despite the koryu trappings), and it can be very easy to stumble into a godawful school.

Roppokai: No idea, really. I think I've only heard of this as something related to Daito-ryu. Not sure.

Yoshinkan aikido: The primary pre-war style, founded by Gozo Shioda-sensei. Heavy drilling of basics, and a different (some say more linear) application of technique. People also often remark that it has a clearer relationship to aikijutsu, both because of the period of Ueshiba-sensei's teaching that it came from and because Shioda-sensei independently studied the art. I cannot verify this.

Tomiki aikido: Founded by judo and aikido master Kenji Tomiki. The only major style of aikido to feature judo-style shiai -- with rules modified to prevent people from just using judo techniques, of course. (I think it's illegal to grab the gi, and one of the competitors has a knife that keeps the other person at aikido distance.)