PDA

View Full Version : Aikido in Orlando

Please visit our sponsor:

Jonshez
05-18-2007, 06:45 AM
Hi all
I'm travelling to Orlando in the next few weeks (dates to be confirmed) on business and wondered if anyone could recommend a location to train at while I'm there. I'll be there for a week, two at the most and although I'm very new to aikido, I'd welcome the opportunity to expand my horizons.

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Jon

George S. Ledyard
05-18-2007, 07:35 AM
Hi all
I'm travelling to Orlando in the next few weeks (dates to be confirmed) on business and wondered if anyone could recommend a location to train at while I'm there. I'll be there for a week, two at the most and although I'm very new to aikido, I'd welcome the opportunity to expand my horizons.

Any suggestions gratefully received.

JonHooker Sensei's dojo, Shindai Aikikai is there. Hooker Sensei posts here frequently. I would make that stop a priority.

http://www.shindai.com/home.htm

Dennis Hooker
05-18-2007, 08:24 AM
You are welcome at the Shindai Dojo

Dennis
www.shindai.com

crbateman
05-18-2007, 08:35 AM
I can suggest Shindai, Shoshin, Kodokai and Suenaka-Ha dojos, if you prefer those with organizational affiliations. There are also numerous independent dojos, if you've got time to look around. Use the dojo search functions here on AikiWeb or on Aikido Journal for best info. Don't rely on the phone book. Consider that there is substantial travel time for some areas from certain others, particularly at rush hour. There are no AAA, USAF or Ki Society dojos in Orlando that I am aware of. I would suggest that you take Hooker Sensei's invitation, and at least begin the adventure there. Enjoy your stay.

Dennis Hooker
05-18-2007, 08:48 AM