PDA

View Full Version : aikido and kali

Please visit our sponsor:

aikishrine
02-24-2007, 09:31 PM
hi i have been training in aikido for several years and i have also dabled in many other martial arts, i have found most to be fun but none that hold my interest like aikido does, however i have recently found kali or escrima, stick fighting to be very interesting, and was wondering if anyone else has done likewise and what they feel about combing the two arts?

Jorge Garcia
02-24-2007, 09:42 PM
hi i have been training in aikido for several years and i have also dabled in many other martial arts, i have found most to be fun but none that hold my interest like aikido does, however i have recently found kali or escrima, stick fighting to be very interesting, and was wondering if anyone else has done likewise and what they feel about combing the two arts?

Will you have to walk around in your daily life carrrying two sticks? Apart from that, Aikido is a philosophy as much as it is a martial art so I would choose to combine Kali or Escrima with something else where it won't matter. If carrying sticks is a requirement, I would opt for a small handgun instead.
Jorge

CNYMike
02-25-2007, 12:52 AM

Hi, Brian! I see you're very close to me, in Syracuse. Where are you getting your Kali? If it's through Guro Kevin Seaman or Sifu Eric Winfree's school (apologies if I misspelled Sifu Eric's last name), then I can comment on it, because I have done Lacoste Inosanto Kali under Guro Kevin and Guro Andy Astle since 1997 (although I "breaked" from classes during the winter of 1997-8, so whether it's nine or ten years depends on where you start counting from).