PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a returning shodan

Please visit our sponsor:

LeeBrotzman
05-16-2006, 05:20 PM
I was hoping to get some opinions regarding my return to the dojo following a 2 year hiatus. Prior to my departure, I was a shodan and assistant instructor at the dojo for 2 years. I left for a variety of reasons, and am now making my way back to the same dojo.

Am I still a shodan? Do I wear my black belt or find a white one? Where do I line up?

Part of me thinks that being shodan doesn't necessarily define a particularr skill level, but that one has gone through the journey and come out the other side. Of course, I can also see the argument for the other side - I'm sure my skills aren't what they used to be and probably aren't shodan-level.

Thoughts/input/ideas?

MaryKaye
05-16-2006, 05:53 PM
Only your instructors can say for sure.

Where I train you would be expected to wear the black belt: once a shodan, always a shodan.

With any luck you'll find that your skills come back quickly. One of my instructors took 22 years off to raise kids, and was surprised how capable he was afterwards--except that sometimes, while he remembered how to do something, a 50-year-old's body was not happy to have done it.

Mary Kaye

Neal Earhart
05-16-2006, 05:58 PM
Congrats for returning to Aikido !

I took about 4.5 years off from Aikido, primarily due to some knee surgeries and some other non-aikido related injuries.

I just went back to my dojo, re-signed up, and started taking class again :)

We don't line-up by rank where I practice, so I can't give you advice about that question. But once you've earned your shodan, it doesn't get taken away...you're just a shodan who's a bit "rusty" ;)

The worst thing I did was stop practicing Aikido...best thing I did was to start practicing again :)

nodmines
05-16-2006, 06:12 PM