PDA

View Full Version : Can different Aikido Schools crosstrain?

Please visit our sponsor:

Koren Ko
05-02-2006, 04:34 AM
Well, since Aikido is such a big family.

But often different aikido school trainees don't cross-train.

Why?
Or on what condition someone will/can train other school?

Especially if the Aikido community is small and not the most popular of a place.

Hope this is not a double post. :blush:

Kaan Berberoglu
05-02-2006, 05:13 AM
I studied with Dave Nettles in Denver, he was amazing. My friend, training in different styles can mean a great deal of experience gain, in my point of view. It maybe different to the way I usually train, but the ki is still the point of the matter. It surrounds us, and brings us closer. I'm glad to say I'm never afraid to try anything new. I might not share the same opinion, but certainly I respect all.
:)

crbateman
05-02-2006, 01:38 PM
Crosstraining is encouraged by some instructors, and frowned upon by others. My suggestion, which is as much a matter of respect as anything else, is to ask your instructor for his/her opinion on the subject prior to establishing other training relationships. You, of course, have the final say.

MaryKaye
05-02-2006, 02:08 PM
I train primarily at a Ki Society dojo, but for quite a while (too busy now) was making open mats and seminars at an Aikikai dojo. Everyone concerned knew what the situation was and gave permission.

I thought it was really helpful, both in convincing me that some of the odder Ki Society teachings actually do work, and in broadening my safe range of ukemi (there's nothing like a barrage of unfamiliar techniques to really polish those survival-ukemi skills). There was some confusion--I am still trying to unlearn a way of holding my hands when receiving an attack that my sensei doesn't care for--but it didn't seem like a big deal. (I am quite capable of being confused all on my own, anyway.)