PDA

View Full Version : Returning Student

Please visit our sponsor:

Suwariwazaman
04-18-2006, 02:27 PM
Hello I am a former aikido student, and want to get back into training. Any tips on how I can get back to training easier, I am not sure how I will be received. Any advice? :(

Nick P.
04-18-2006, 02:53 PM
Hello I am a former aikido student, and want to get back into training. Any tips on how I can get back to training easier, I am not sure how I will be received. Any advice? :(

A few things that might affect how you return to training;

Are you returning to the same dojo? If yes, and again depending on how you left, you might want to contact the Sensei in advance and "ask" if it is OK.

If your returning to training at a different dojo, and you have chosen the dojo wisely, then just show up and jump back in. When others will ask if you have trained before, just reply with "Yes, for a while, and I am coming back from a break."

Enjoy, and welcome back.

giriasis
04-18-2006, 02:59 PM
Umm...you usually don't have to ask if it's okay to come back and return to training. Just show up and the people there will be happy to see you. Just give yourself time to catch up to where you left off. Also, there might be newer people there who will not know you so don't be surprised if they assume that you are newer than them and try to help you out. Just blend and enjoy your first few classes back.

Suwariwazaman
04-18-2006, 04:29 PM
Thanks I really feel better about that. I am going back to the same dojo where I left off. I hope to not be as clumsy as when I left. I really enjoyed Aikido, and I wish I hadn't left in the first place. Ging through my inventory, I remember Kotegaeshi, Shihonage, Ikkyo, and Shihonage, and Iriminage

Suwariwazaman
04-18-2006, 04:36 PM