Welcome to AikiWeb Aikido Information
AikiWeb: The Source for Aikido Information
AikiWeb's principal purpose is to serve the Internet community as a repository and dissemination point for aikido information.

aikido articles


dojo search
image gallery
links directory

book reviews
video reviews
dvd reviews
equip. reviews


rss feeds

Follow us on

Home > AikiWeb Aikido Forums
Go Back   AikiWeb Aikido Forums > Open Discussions

Hello and thank you for visiting AikiWeb, the world's most active online Aikido community! This site is home to over 22,000 aikido practitioners from around the world and covers a wide range of aikido topics including techniques, philosophy, history, humor, beginner issues, the marketplace, and more.

If you wish to join in the discussions or use the other advanced features available, you will need to register first. Registration is absolutely free and takes only a few minutes to complete so sign up today!

Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2007, 02:45 PM   #1
Steven's Avatar
Dojo: Aikido Yoshinkan Sacramento - Seikeikan Dojo
Location: Orangevale, CA
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 635
Phishing Scam?

Any of you fine gentleman or ladies in the UK ever hear of this group mentioned at the bottom of this note? I particularly liked the part I bolded. Needless to say, I'm in no way related nor know of such a person.

--- Original Message ---
I am Andrew Smith, Perosnal Assistant to late Mr. Frederick Miranda. He gave me your name and contact information to contact you on something very confidential before his demise. I am contacting you based on what is presently on that capacity and want to be sure it is you I have contacted before details will be divulged. I have written series of letters to the address as provided by my client (the deceased) but until this moment have not gotten any response from you whatsoever.

Although I am not very sure of your relationship with him. However, if you are really the above named person, kindly reconfirm your contact details. If you are not the above named person, kindly disregard this message as received in error and please keep it to yourself as if it never happened. If you happen to be the person, kindly reach me as soon as possible, so we can resolve this in earnest.

Thanks for your cooperation!

Yours truly,

Andrew Smith
Jupiter House, Calleva Park
Aldermaston Reading
Berkshire RG7 8NN UK
Tel+44) 701 113 0749
Fax: +448704717642

Andrew Smith [a.smi002@yahoo.co.uk]
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:45 PM   #2
Dojo: Sheffield Shodokan Dojo
Location: Sheffield, UK
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 524
Re: Phishing Scam?

Steven Miranda wrote: View Post
Any of you fine gentleman or ladies in the UK ever hear of this group mentioned at the bottom of this note? I particularly liked the part I bolded.
Not phishing as such, its a 419 fraud. No idea about the address (there's no group mentioned: "Jupiter House" is the first line of the address rather than the name of an organisation.) The phone number is a cellphone, not sure about the fax.

Have you found out what he left you in his will yet?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 04:51 PM   #3
gdandscompserv's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,214
Re: Phishing Scam?

What's Mr. Frederick Miranda late for?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 05:42 AM   #4
Tom Fish
Dojo: McAllen
Location: McAllen
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Re: Phishing Scam?

Contact them and let them know that as soon as you're done helping the King of Nigeria get his money out of Africa, you will follow up with their situation
  Reply With Quote

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 PM.

vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2018 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited
Copyright 1997-2018 AikiWeb and its Authors, All Rights Reserved.
For questions and comments about this website:
Send E-mail
plainlaid-picaresque outchasing-protistan explicantia-altarage seaford-stellionate