View Single Post
Old 11-27-2001, 10:03 AM   #3
Dojo: Windsong Dojo
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6
Thanks for your help,

I think you are right about looking at a few different books.

Some of the names we have that are different...and some are very subtle to say the least. I have seen for ex: shomenuchi which we refer to as shomenate. My understanding is that uchi and ate both mean strike but uchi is more of a sword type strike as opposed to our push type strike.

We have the waking kata...or Tegatana no Kata(hand/arm sword form) consisting of twelve forms

1. shomen ashi--foward step
2. waki ashi--side to side step
3. tenkan ashi--pivot step
4. shomen tegatana--foward push
5. uchi mawashi--inside sweep
6. soto mawashi--outside sweep
7. uchi soto gaeshi--inside/outside reversal
8. uchi mawashi gaeshi--inside sweep reversal
9. soto mawashi gaeshi--outside sweep
10. ude goshi gaeshi--arm hip reversal
11. o mawashi--major sweep
12. yoko o mawashi--side major sweep

these are what most everything else we do is based on. we practice this daily in multiple times.

then there's 8 releases or Hanasu no Kata
and then the 23--Ju Nana Hon Kata--also radori no kata
broken up into Atemi waza, Hiji waza, Tekubi waza and Uki waza..and I can go on...but that is what I mean.

Thanks again for your info.
If anyone is interested in this you can read about it in Shihan Nick Lowry's AI KI DO "Principles of Kata and Randori" from 12 Winds Publishing

Peace to all.
  Reply With Quote