AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   newbie (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=157)

slider7 07-29-2000 07:51 AM

Hi everyone, I am new to this group and I just started training in aikido last week.

In two years time I will be going to university which will be away from home. Therefore, I will not be able to continue training at my local dojo until the term ends. Could anyone tell me how easy it is to pick up aikido again if you have a fairly gap of training in between (probably several months)? I could try and find a dojo in the university area - has anyone mixed dojos before? Is it confusing? Any other comments?

Thanks a lot
Rian

Russell 07-29-2000 09:23 AM

Re-learning Aikido...

Good morning Rian-

I began taking aikido again about six weeks ago. My previous training actually was in college- TWENTY YEARS AGO!!

I found that its alot like riding a bike- once you learn, you never really forget. EVERYTHING came back rather quickly. So, not to worry. I would encourage you to find a dojo where you're going. I deeply regret having let my training lapse as I did.

Best wishes-

Russell

Russ 07-29-2000 01:37 PM

Hi Slider7,

Hopefully there will be a university club where you are going. Join it and train there. If you really like doing aikido don't stop! It will probably be a little bit different from what you've just started but fundamentally (I think) all aikido is the same. When you're done university for the term go back to your home dojo and you'll likely see the differences are less than the similarities.

Good luck!

guest1234 07-29-2000 03:09 PM