AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Bad Scenario - On the Ground (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2739)

Hari Soetrisno 10-11-2002 06:45 PM

Bad Scenario - On the Ground

Hi ! I am not a martial artist but have always
been fascinated by Aikido. I once saw a demonstration at my college. I like the pacifist attitude of the art. I am aware that
the founder was an accomplished all around martial artist. My question is whether Aikido
has anti-grappling techniques ? Or that they teach the students for worst case scenarios
where you end up on the ground ?

keithedwards 10-11-2002 09:29 PM

Hello Hari: The dojo where I study spends about one hour a week teaching grappling techniques as part of our Saturday classes for those cases where the confrontation ends on the ground without well established control.

From my scant experience with aikido, I think one of the general ideas behind the art is to direct the attacker to the ground and to control him or her through a pin. I'm very new to aikido (about 1 year), so perhaps someone with more experience can provide a more defining statement.

Kevin Wilbanks 10-11-2002 10:02 PM

No. Groundfighting is outside the scope of Aikido. If you try to use traditional Aikido pins on people trained in wrestling/grappling/jujutsu, you will find the results disappointing.

To my mind, this is not a big problem, although I like the idea of devoting a little extra session to groundfighting basics for the sake of well-roundedness. (I wish I could get that without having to pay $75 per month to the local dojo that has BJJ classes.)