AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   aikido and musicians (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=714)

j. rose 04-04-2001 03:14 PM

I'm a musician and have been studying aikido for about a year. Though I haven't been injured, sometimes I worry that certain techniques will damage my hands. Any other musician/aikidoists who might know about this?

Steve Speicher 04-04-2001 03:22 PM

Well I'll respond as a fellow musician. I don't know! I never thought about it. I guess a wrist injury would be pretty detrimental to musical practice, but I don't think everyday aikido practice in general will somehow weaken your musical ability. Unless practicing aikido means you aren't practicing your instrument. Anyway, just practice practice practice (aikido and the music). We can form an aiki band and tour the nations of the world, spreading the message of budo in the form of music. Or not.

Steve Speicher 04-04-2001 03:23 PM

I'm not that clever, I stole that idea from Ikeda sensei.

[Censored] 04-04-2001 05:12 PM

Quote:

j. rose wrote:
I'm a musician and have been studying aikido for about a year. Though I haven't been injured, sometimes I worry that certain techniques will damage my hands. Any other musician/aikidoists who might know about this?
I played the sax about 8 years. I have occasionally jammed a finger in practice (sore for a few days), but have never sustained any serious hand damage.

I think working with computers is far more dangerous to my hands, then practicing Aikido.

guest1234 04-04-2001 05:21 PM