AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   The Beginner's Mind (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23517)

Mark Uttech 03-30-2014 05:46 AM

The Beginner's Mind

How many of you are able to keep a Beginner's Mind and trust your own aikido journey?
While I find ways to trust my own aikido journey, the Beginner's Mind is the strongest technique around. I would be interested in hearing the thoughts of others regarding how you manage to keep going.
In gassho,
Mark

PeterR 03-30-2014 07:58 AM

Re: The Beginner's Mind

When I was a beginner my mind was chaotic. Don't ever want to go back there. :D

SeiserL 03-31-2014 02:48 PM

When I was a beginner, I was excited and open to learning and having fun.
Never changed.

NagaBaba 03-31-2014 05:40 PM

I have strong doubts that is possible to have beginners mind after few years of practice. Many mental filters have been created and we dont perceive the reality the same way. We can pretend to have one, but in reality, we still have jugdements based on the values developped during practice....

Stephen Nichol 04-02-2014 12:11 AM

Well every time I go to class and my Sensei tells me what needs correcting... again, just like last time... and though it may not need as much correction... it still needs it.. so in that moment I realize how much further I still have yet to go and how much more there is still to learn.

The only way I am not crushed by the weight of that thought is to maintain the enthusiasm of the beginners mind to get through something without drawing a comment for correction from my Sensei because it is no longer needed. Not because she has given up on me! :p

dps 04-02-2014 01:07 PM

Quote:

Mark Uttech wrote: (Post 336109)
.....the Beginner's Mind is the strongest technique around. I would be interested in hearing the thoughts of others regarding how you manage to keep going.
Mark

Huh?

dps