AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Wedding ring? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3730)

Jenna Sanderson 04-15-2003 07:18 PM

Wedding ring?

Hello all. :)

I took one semester of aikido in college (required phys. ed class for credit). I enjoyed it immensely but couldn't continue with the college club after that due to a conflicting class schedule.

I am a recent graduate and want to get back into aikido, this time on a more serious and long-term basis. When I trained in college, the dojo rule was that ALL jewelry, earrings and wedding bands included, had to be removed. I had no problem with this, and understand why it would be bad to have protruding or sharp edges on jewelry.

I am engaged and will be married this summer. Obviously, I wouldn't wear my diamond to train (OUCH that could hurt!), but once my wedding band goes on, it's not coming off. Neither my fiance or I think it's appropriate to remove them for any reason. Incidentally, my ring is a 4 mm comfort fit platinum band...nothing sticking out or pointy.

I'd ask the sensei of the local dojo, but I am relocating to an as-yet unknown location right after the wedding...so I don't know what my local dojo would be! Does anyone on here wear their wedding band to train? I would hate for this to be a hindrance, but I simply can't see myself doing aikido again if it means my ring has to come off.

Dave Porter 04-15-2003 08:15 PM

Hi, I think it really depends on the rules of the Dojo. I wear mine, but I've been asked to remove it before. Just a thought from someone who's been married for 11 years, you have a noble senitment, but I think your going to find it's not always feasible. Allow me to offer two stories about wedding bands and personal safety.