AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Testing (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Testing or not testing... (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16149)

Arashi Kumomura 05-12-2009 03:58 AM

Testing or not testing...

I've been training for a few years now in the same dojo and I have not yet tested for rank. I'm fine with this; I don't feel the need to test and my sensei told me that if I ever showed the desire or asked to test then my sensei would schedule for an exam.

Our dojo is pretty small (which is good for me) and I can understand the reasons for not yet being tested. The other students in my class do have ranks, but I don't think they've been tested since I joined (though I could be wrong about that).

I mostly go to learn as much as I can and to enjoy as I progress. I'm enjoying Aikido and I find the experience to be invaluable. I don't think any of us have as much interest in rank as much as just want to learn as much as we can and enjoy.

I was wondering if it would be a good idea to request an examination and if other people thought it was bad or perhaps irresponsible that I haven't been tested. I was also wondering if anyone could give me advice as to what to expect on a test. Since I haven't technically advanced via evaluation, am I still a rokkyu?

Tim Ruijs 05-12-2009 04:56 AM

Re: Testing or not testing...

Hi
In my dojo the students get ranked as I see fit. There are no tests in the sense that they need to display several techniques which I then judge.
Aikido is about self realisation. How can I determine how far someone has developed, let alone judge that?
Their behaviour in the dojo is important. Do they merely practice and go home? Do they help out in the dojo, do they approach newcomers and explain what exactly the dojo is and how it operates?