AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Scoliosis and Aikido (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3641)

WilliamWessel 03-26-2003 03:53 AM

Scoliosis and Aikido

Anyone here dealt with having scoliosis or know of a friend/student who has? My doctor expressed a little bit of concern with the impact on my spine from being thrown during aikido.

rachmass 03-26-2003 06:13 AM

Hi, I had curviture of the spine as a child, and still have remnents of it in my body, with one hip being higher than the other and a permanent spasm on one side of my back. I have been practicing for 20 years, sometimes extremely vigorously. Doesn't sound like my problem is as severe as yours though. Learning to take softer ukemi helps, and not doing too many high falls is a good idea.

WilliamWessel 03-26-2003 07:42 AM

Have around a 50 degree curve for those who know a little bit about scoliosis, pretty severe.

rachmass 03-26-2003 07:49 AM

I don't know much about it. Talk extensively with your doctor, or maybe a Chiropractor and a DO could help. Are you lifting weights? That helps bone density tremendously and should be helpful with the pounding from the mat (just don't do too much and bulk-up, which isn't good for aikido).

bob_stra 03-26-2003 09:47 AM

Re: Scoliosis and Aikido

Quote:

William Wessel (WilliamWessel) wrote:
Anyone here dealt with having scoliosis or know of a friend/student who has? My doctor expressed a little bit of concern with the impact on my spine from being thrown during aikido.

I have congenital scoliosis. In a cosmic twist of fate, I also happen to work with cerebral palsy folks (severe scoliosis is the norm). To top that off, I'm a chiro student. To top it all off, my 12 week research project is into...ah, go on, guess ;-)

(The irony is delish.)