AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   AikiWeb System (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Poll: Should technical skill alone determine promotions in aikido? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2023)

AikiWeb System 06-16-2002 12:24 AM

AikiWeb Poll for the week of June 16, 2002:

Should technical skill alone determine promotions in aikido?
  • I don't do aikido
  • Yes
  • No
Here are the current results.

DaveO 06-16-2002 06:00 AM

Poll discussion

I'm just a beginner in Aikido, (Zip-Kyu, as I call it :D ), but it seems to me that the development of Ki is an essential ingredient for a person's progress in Aikido. It seems further evident that in order to properly develop Ki, one must develop a certain attitude; a spiritual center, for lack of a better term. For myself - a retired soldier, I'm as aggressive as they come in life and on the mat; I'm working hard to develop the inner calm required to properly perform Aikido. Therefore, I don't believe that technique alone is enough; they should be equally balanced with Ki - or at least the Ki exercises - when testing for advancement. Thanks for reading this, friends. :)

mike lee 06-16-2002 11:10 AM

never say always

In most cases, technical skill is enough, because most of the people who practice aikido are decent folk. In some very rare cases, a student may have a very serious attitude problem that may need to be overcome first, before a test and a promotion can be given. (In 25 years of aikido training, I have yet to see such a situation arise.)

The bigger problem in aikido, as I see it, is that some students are too passive and they are unwilling to test at all. Gutless martial-arts students should be a contradiction in terms, but aikido, for some reason, seems to attract them.

SeiserL 06-16-2002 05:56 PM

Should technical skill alone determine promotions in aikido?