AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Newbie stuff... (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9624)

idarch 01-17-2006 11:05 AM

Newbie stuff...

Hi, I am quite new to Aikido (5th Kyu) and would like help with the following...

1) When the sensei claps for us to kneel down and watch and my gi is coming apart can I neaten it while I watch him or should I wait until we next get up?
2) Should I bow to the Shomen when I leave the mat? Only one of the aikidoists (sorry if I made that word up) do this, but we all bow when we leave the dojo and when we enter the dojo AND the mat.
3) The whole blending thing... is this something I will get with time, coz at the moment I can't get it at all :(
4) What should I do if someone hold my wrists so tight when practising a technique that I can't move them?

Thanks for all the help :D

PhilMyKi 01-17-2006 11:30 AM

Re: Newbie stuff...

In response ...

1) Wait until you get up, you should be paying attention and really can't make a good job of straightening yourself whilst kneeling (although occasionally I try myself)
2) Yes, always
3) Yes, we all struggle from time to time (at least that is what I am told!) :)
4) Your choices are this ... ... ... bitch about your hand turning blue or relax and perform the technique because if they are holding on so tight, there will be a lot of energy to use - you just need to find a way to exploit it all!. :D

Thats my thoughts on it!

Happy training.

Josh Reyer 01-17-2006 12:14 PM

Quote:

Ivan Darch wrote:
4) What should I do if someone hold my wrists so tight when practising a technique that I can't move them?

First, move yourself. If you can't bring your hand to your center, bring your center to your hand. Then (and this is the hard part), try to move your hand along your center keeping it totally relaxed. Don't clench your muscles.

Ketsan 01-17-2006 12:15 PM