AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Aikido is a Martial Art and not for self-defense??? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14722)

Enrique Antonio Reyes 06-30-2008 05:59 AM

Aikido is a Martial Art and not for self-defense???

Hi Guys,

In a recent session. A senior instructor mentioned that he himself will not use Aikido for Self-Defense he then mentioned that Aikido is a martial art and not designed to be used or relied upon for self-defense, that Aikido is somewhat like an art comparable to ballet. (he actually used ballet as a comparison)

I am a martial artist and have studied various martial arts. I would like to think that I am an Aikidoka first before anything else. I train in the hope of keeping myself ready for self-defense. so after this remark I find myself questioning my motives for training Aikido again.

I would just like to hear what you guys think. Perhaps there was an underlying message that I was not able to grasp.

One-Aiki,

Iking

rob_liberti 06-30-2008 06:22 AM

Re: Aikido is a Martial Art and not for self-defense???

Here is what I think about the subject:

http://aikiweb.com/forums/showpost.p...44&postcount=3

http://aikiweb.com/forums/showpost.p...8&postcount=33

http://aikiweb.com/forums/showpost.p...&postcount=171

Here is a great column on this:
http://aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12221
(I liked post 11 myself.)

Good luck in your search,
Rob

SeiserL 06-30-2008 07:09 AM

Underlying message? He told you what he thought. Sounded pretty straight forward to me. He doesn't practice Aikido as a martial art. His right.

I do though. My right.

How do you practice yours?

Nick P. 06-30-2008 07:31 AM

His message seems pretty clear, with little room for an underlying message.

I always go back to these, when in doubt...

http://www.aikiweb.com/general/founder.html