AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Techniques (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   forward roll (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=956)

Vera Cordwood 06-22-2001 04:44 PM

forward roll

Um, my forward roll, sucks. I'm a newbie. Any suggestions on how to get it right/better/best?

Chuck Clark 06-22-2001 07:24 PM

Vera,

Ask your instructor or teacher for help. Don't give up!

Regards,

TheProdigy 06-22-2001 09:00 PM

Relax, keep at it, and keep a positive mind.

But like Chuck said, for anything more your instructor is the person you should be looking to on this. Good luck to you.

-Jase

guest1234 06-22-2001 11:01 PM

if you are a beginner, your forward roll is supposed to suck, also your backward roll on at least one side, look at the fine print on your contract, i think it is item # 24 :)
besides your instructor, other good sources (sometimes easiesr for nervous beginners to ask) are senior students--- I'd suggest one whose rolls you like, that you feel comfortable working with. and don't be surprised if you get different/conflicting advice if more than one person helps, we all do things a bit differently---if it gets too confusing, smile when you tell the others that Student X is helping you so you'd like to concentrate on what s/he told you to try.
I would try to do them before and after each class (still do, you can never roll too much), and in the beginning to keep a positive mind set, would end before i got tired (more likely to make mistakes) and after a roll i was fairly satisfied with, so my last memory of rolling would be good.
Good luck, Vera!

Jim ashby 06-23-2001 01:58 AM

Forward rolls