AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   aikido for police (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7210)

rookie 12-25-2004 06:48 PM

aikido for police

hey, i'm will. new to the forum and i'm looking for some solid advice on aikido. i've been a cop in new orleans for two years and i switched to the state police. troopers spend alot of time on the road ,alone, with little or no back up. would aikido give me real life techniques to use in situations. are there knife/gun defenses/takedowns or takeaways? and reading about aikido its mostly defensive, can you use it offensively? i'm not looking to be a ufc champ nor do i want to be the tough guy in the dept. i want to be the humble cop with an arsenal of tricks up my sleeve if push comes to shove. any advice would be appreciated. hope everyone had a good xmas.thanks. by the way has anybody heard anything about the dojo in new orleans(aikido new orleans)
-will

aikidoc 12-25-2004 07:46 PM

Re: aikido for police

The Tokyo police use it. We have weapons take aways, take downs, locks and pins. Find a good instructor and go watch a class.

rookie 12-25-2004 07:54 PM

all aikido styles have those techniques and all styles can be used for police work?

Paul Sanderson-Cimino 12-25-2004 09:32 PM

Short answer: yes. Now, some styles might be better for you in this regard, but instructor/dojo may matter more than style. Some schools are more martial than others.

For the record, the style taught to the riot police is Yoshinkai. However, I recall hearing positive testimonials from police officers studying many different styles.

Try a few classes, see if you like it. What it's doing for you 'practically' may be hard to tell at first, but try to gauge that a little as well. I think you'll need to do most of the assessment here, not us.

Good luck.

AikiRooster 12-25-2004 10:02 PM

Trooper Bosworth: