AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Testing (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   testing across affiliations (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5086)

Jessie Brown 03-01-2004 02:07 PM

testing across affiliations

Hi everyone!

I am currently a college student and mudansha at an ASU dojo. It looks like I may end up practicing Aikido at an Eastern Region USAF dojo after I graduate. I was wondering if there is a standard procedure for testing and ranking across affiliations or whether it depends on the individual Sensei. For example, would I have to retake my most recent test? If I switched back to ASU at some point, would my USAF rank transfer also? This could get very complicated and convoluted! :confused:

It seems these issues would be more common nowadays now that many Senseis encourage training with other affiliations, especially at seminars. There are some significant differences in testing requirements across affiliations, although there are also differences between dojos in the same affiliation.

Thank you!!!
Jessie

Jessie Brown 03-01-2004 02:09 PM

Sorry guys...I meant to post that message in a different category. I'm fairly new to AikiWeb, so I'm not an expert yet!

Jessie

Ted Marr 03-01-2004 02:26 PM

I don't know for sure about other organizations, but I hear that USAF-E will only accept rank given by other USAF people or Hombu. A large portion of that is due to silly political stuff. Style differences and lack of standardization of training times and cirricula across organizations account for the rest. But take heart... the important things (your skills) should transfer over almost seamlessly *grin*

William Westdyke 03-01-2004 02:28 PM