AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   bizzare training aids (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1621)

Kathy Park 03-12-2002 12:07 PM

bizzare training aids

As a teacher, I am always interested in finding new ways, sometimes bizarre ways, to help students get into their bodies, learn to move from their hips, and become more present. Here are two I've found very useful: Industrial size hula hoops!! They're 16 feet in circumference made from one inch diameter irrigation pipe and decorated with colorful duct tape. What a way to learn how to move your hips! Try tenkan with the hoop. Try shikko walking. Try two, then three at a time. We're up to five. You really have to lower your center in order to stabilize five, especially when they go into chaos. Try playing catch while hula-hooping!
That leads me to my second training aid - a soccer sized rubber ball. I'm tired of telling my students to keep their backs straight and their eyes in the room, so instead, after demonstrating a technique, I walk around the mat throwing the ball to each nage at the completion of their throw. A good nage catches the ball!!
What are your bizarre training aids and techniques?:p

Erik 03-12-2002 02:45 PM

Obstacle courses for ukemi and knee walking practice. I got the idea when I saw a bunch of cones in the dojo. I would set up some cones and have people knee walk around them (forward and backward). I would also include forward rolls over elevated jo's, rolls over 2 jo's for distance, rolling between 2 jo's for tight rolls, include backward/forward rolls (both low and high) and if I were feeling in the mood I'd hold a jo and move it as someone came to roll somewhere in the course. Basically anything to mess with people's patterns. I'd get up to 10 different drills. I miss those cones.