AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Supplies (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Thick or Thin: a Question of Dogi (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4654)

Josh Bisker 11-18-2003 03:38 PM

Thick or Thin: a Question of Dogi

After suffering through the rumpled and untucked look of a cheap judo gi for the past few years, I'm raising the bar and ordering myself one of them fancy Bu-Jin dogi. I got to try on someone's at a seminar recently and have never felt as good on the mat, so now i'm caving in.
My question is about weight and thickness: do people find a huge difference between the lighter and heavier weight dogi? Are there specific advantages to one over the other? I'm a student and the cost is prohibitive - this will not be a "one for each day of training" purchase but something more substantial, and i want to make sure i'm investing well. Advice?

Ninjachick 11-18-2003 04:31 PM

Hi Josh

I think both have their advantages and disadvantages. Thicker ones tend to last longer, more padding for ukemi, etc. Thin ones cooler (but don't soak up the sweat as well), don't take as long to dry, etc.

I have both and tend to wear the thinner one more regularly primarily because it is cooler and it's easier to dry. Thicker one looks nicer tho.

Something to think on...

Regards

Mich

Lan Powers 11-18-2003 04:44 PM

Go thick man, thiiiiiiiick, they feel better and last better. (Also look better after they break in a bit too).

FWIW

Lan

fvhale 11-18-2003 06:47 PM

My preference is thicker. I think the weight of the fabric helps with my training.