AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   How do I wear Aikido Gi Pants? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9618)

tionik06 01-16-2006 11:50 AM

How do I wear Aikido Gi Pants?

Hi. This will also be my first post. As you can guess im new to Aikido and also wearing a gi.

I got my Aikido gi from e-bogu.com and the pants are the kind that have two loops at the waist, one on left side and one on right. I think i have concluded that these loops go in front, but how do i tie these pants?

Derek Gaudet 01-16-2006 12:09 PM

Re: How do I wear Aikido Gi Pants?

Everyone I know has always tied them with a basic shoelace bow, Me included... suppose you could double knot them if ya want to be trapped :D . Not really something to be too worried about, not compared to the different styles of wearing and tying a hakama.

aikidodragon 01-16-2006 12:18 PM

I know the feeling about the whole pance thing. It took me 10 minuts to figure it out.
You put the loops in front. Put one string through each loop and pull. Then tye in a boe, i double knot mine, I have seen to many people's pance come untyed and fall off.
If you want the trueth it took me longer to figure out how to tye the belt, that took months for me to figure out.

tionik06 01-16-2006 12:51 PM

i figured i would be wondering about the belt for a long time, so i just asked fello students. Hmm my pant's straps are kinda long. I am a 5 and i bought a 6 online to be safe. I shrunk it down to a 5 but the string is still a bit long. I guess i will just wrap them around once then double knot it.

I would reccomend that if someone knows their size, they should order in that size. Yea a gi can be shrunk, but not all the places shrink equally. On my jacket the arms shrunk but the length of the torso did not shrink much. So its maybe an inch or two longer than what i see on most people.