AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Weapons (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Total Newbie (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1656)

Wshmaster0 03-23-2002 09:00 AM

Total Newbie

Hello,

Please excuse any comments that I make if they sound stupid. I am a TOTAL and COMPLETE newbie at Aikido or any form of martial arts for that matter.

I've always had the interest in martial arts but since it was never really encouraged in my family, I have never been 'able' to do it.

I am currently 19 and I attend FSU in Tallahassee, FL. My main question is, is it too late? I am of medium height (5'4, actually small for a male) and I breakdance on a regular basis to keep my flexibility. However I have always been intimidated by people who entered at an early age and can fly through the air like it was nothing.

My main interest though is in the sword techniques I had a friend who was into martial arts and was training in Aikido. I mentioned to him that I wanted to learn a pure Japanese style so he said this might a good one for me. Is it possible to learn start the sword without prior years training in the martial arts?

Any feedback would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you and have a nice day :)

Greg Jennings 03-23-2002 09:37 AM

Re: Total Newbie

Quote:

Originally posted by Wshmaster0

I am currently 19 and I attend FSU in Tallahassee, FL. My main question is, is it too late? I am of medium height (5'4, actually small for a male) and I breakdance on a regular basis to keep my flexibility. However I have always been intimidated by people who entered at an early age and can fly through the air like it was nothing.