AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Training (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   What to do when what Tori is doing is hurting you (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16138)

StevieT 05-11-2009 07:01 AM

What to do when what Tori is doing is hurting you

Let me start off by saying that as Uke, I am probably more obstinate that a lot of people in my dojo. I'm not saying that I struggle and fight against Tori, but at the same time, I don't give my center away, Tori has to take it. Also, unless Tori asks for something different, I will always give a proper, full-force attack. I do this because I think both Uke and Tori learn more that way.

Anyway, about a month ago I was training with a girl who is a lot more experienced than I am (I've been training about 7 months, she's been Aikido for quite a few years). I forget exactly what technique we were doing, but the attack was a Yokomen and the first movement was a sweeping downwards "block". She was having a really off day. She was not really sweeping far enough to take me off balance and then in her second movement was standing me straight back up. Needless to say, the rest of the technique was not working. The large difference in experience meant I couldn't really help her with what was going wrong.

So she was getting frustrated and she started to get very "hitty". After a few minutes, the repeated impacts on my forearm and the inside of my elbow were really starting to hurt. At this point I only really had two options: weaken the attack and start falling easy or put up with the pain and keep going. I couldn't really tell her to use less force in the technique if I was going to continue to use full force in the attack and I couldn't really advise her on what was going wrong. Anyway, I chose the latter option, to just put up with the pain and keep going.