AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Techniques (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Strike Nikkyo (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10483)

Mato-san 06-12-2006 11:25 AM

Strike Nikkyo

Ok, I am not an expert in terminology, but a hands on guy.
We have a shomen strike (power or no power) to the skull.
We enter and take yurami (josh help me) on the finger tips and proceed in tenkan motion to a vunrable position.

NOW from here is it best to position the nikkyo before stomping or sliding (yoshinkan) or (skipping in, like in ki aikido) or do we wait till we go to the ground to position nikkyo?(not apply nikkyo but position)??????????????

Eric Webber 06-12-2006 02:17 PM

Re: Strike Nikkyo

I vote for slapping (okay,okay positioning) the nikkyo on ASAP if it's effective. There's little argument with an effective nikkyo, you want it handy as soon as possible, even if it means before you have uke all the way on the ground. Just my two cents.....

Ron Tisdale 06-12-2006 02:25 PM

I have to say I'm not sure what your description refers to. Yoshinkan doesn't do a lot of stomping. ;)

In general, outside of a dojo I would almost never do nikkajo right off the bat. I'd do Ikkajo first, then while uke is bent over and off balance, move to nikkajo (you mentioned doing it from a shomen strike). Off of a grab I might go straight to nikkajo, especially if it is a shoulder grab...but usually only after hitting the guy in the nose first. ;)

Best,
Ron

billybob 06-12-2006 03:19 PM

Take uke's balance. Name the techniques later over beer.

dave

Aristeia 06-12-2006 03:26 PM

nice Dave!

Dirk Hanss 06-12-2006 04:07 PM

Quote:

Mathew McDowell wrote:
Ok, I am not an expert in terminology, but a hands on guy.
We have a shomen strike (power or no power) to the skull.
We enter and take yurami (josh help me) on the finger tips and proceed in tenkan motion to a vunrable position.