AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Columns (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   Oh Yea Uh (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18678)

SeiserL 09-20-2010 11:17 PM

Oh Yea Uh

1 Attachment(s)
Breathe in, train hard and remember
Breathe out, forget and remember again
"Oh yeah huh"

When my son was a young boy he didn't always remember everything that he was supposed to. He would forget. He had a lot on his mind. Not everything that was important to me was important enough for him to understand. When I would remind him of the things he forgot, he would tilt his head and say "Oh yeah huh".

As a teacher I try to remind the students of all the things they need to pay attention to. Because I am a bit of a compulsive perfectionist, the list of things I want them to remember is often far too long for them to actually understand and perform, much less actually remember for next time. There are the physical mechanics of the body and the mental concepts and principles that together give Aikido its body and mind unification. It is the body and mind unification that is the goal of Aikido. "Oh yeah huh"

I too remember learning and feeling overwhelmed and overloaded with too much information too soon. It is hard enough to coordinate my own body and mind, let alone when its connected to someone who is attacking me. But that is the craft of Aikido. We must learn our craft before we can learn our art. "Oh yeah huh"