AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Training (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Seated Aikido (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4846)

bluwing27 01-09-2004 06:22 AM

Seated Aikido

Hi All,

Im looking for some info and inspiration here guys....

Ive recently been asked to look into developing a seated aikido course/demonstration for the local age concern group i.e. a way infirm people can begin to train and develop balance, coordination etc whilst sitting down on a seat. However I have little experience in this field and would love some info or pointers if anyone is willing to help?

Cheers

Chris

happysod 01-09-2004 06:51 AM

Chris, dim and distant past stuff but my first instructor did run some similar courses for wheelchair users.

From my limited memory of this, techniques consisted mainly of adapting hani-handachi with an emphasis on grabs rather than strikes. Many of the kneeling ki tests can be used from a seated position, I can send you the ones we have if you'd like or other ki societies should have some lit. Some gentle bokken and jo work will aid in keeping a straight back/relaxed shoulders and help work on breathing.

Other than that all I can suggest is use some of the arm/upper body movements from various aikido techniques and adapt it into a kata somewhat like tai-chi.

Ted Marr 01-09-2004 06:57 AM