AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Weapons (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   bokken for beginners (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8934)

maeukemi 09-19-2005 11:28 AM

bokken for beginners

Sensei finally told me I could start practicing bokken suburi outside of class -- whee!

Knowing I don't own a bokken or jo yet, sensei suggested practicing with a broom. The only problems with this are a) whacking myself in the head with said broom and b) brooms in no way come close to even the lightest-weight bokken we have for use in class, so I'm finding I'm having to step out often and for relatively long stretches compared to our class length.

What's the best wood for a beginner like me to use?

Suggestions?

Thanks!

Chris Walla 09-19-2005 01:41 PM

Re: bokken for beginners

I am no expert, but this may help you.

For home practice with a bokken you may purchase a very cheap bokken from a local martial arts supply store (white oak is good)

For a jo I went to several hardware stores and found a broom stick that was almost as heavy as a real jo and cut it to length.

Now I would not advise hard hit or parry with these as they are not seasoned properly and will break.

- Chris

James Davis 09-19-2005 03:41 PM

Quote:

Maya Mattison wrote:
Sensei finally told me I could start practicing bokken suburi outside of class -- whee!

Knowing I don't own a bokken or jo yet, sensei suggested practicing with a broom. The only problems with this are a) whacking myself in the head with said broom and b) brooms in no way come close to even the lightest-weight bokken we have for use in class, so I'm finding I'm having to step out often and for relatively long stretches compared to our class length.

What's the best wood for a beginner like me to use?

Suggestions?

Thanks!