AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Language (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   meaning of "osu" (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13855)

Fred L 01-25-2008 01:07 PM

meaning of "osu"

I recently started training at a Yoshinkan dojo. They frequently use the term "osu" for al sorts of things like "hello", "thank you", etc. Their explanation to me was that the word is not used in conversational japanese, and that it is similar to the "hooyah!" used by marines. Can any of you guys elaborate?

thanks

Fred

odudog 01-25-2008 01:23 PM

Re: meaning of "osu"

The real meaning of osu is push. But it is also used as slang as hooray as you posted as well as yes, understand, got it, OK, hello, etc... What ever the context of the conversation is, if you say osu, it will mean what ever the answer should be. However, don't say it in an Aikikai dojo for we don't use it. I found that out the hard way at Aikikai Honbu dojo. My previous style used the word and I had thought that all Aikido used it.

Ron Tisdale 01-25-2008 01:37 PM

It is considered rather rude outside of most "tough guy" contexts. You'll see it in men's university clubs (judo, some kendo I hear, etc), the Yoshinkan, some karate dojo, places like that. There are some good posts on www.e-budo.com and an old article by Robert Mustard on alt-rec.martial-arts or one of those news groups. I'd have to search for it myself now...

Best,
Ron

Josh Reyer 01-25-2008 01:45 PM

Ohayo gozaimasu - Generally, "Good morning", but really a kind of generic greeting, particularly in certain industries where it is used at any time of the day.
Ohayossu - Shortened version of above.
Owasu - Shortened version of above.
O(s)su - Shortened version of above. Often used by young men as a greeting to each other and in manly pursuits (budo, sports, etc) as multipurpose sound of acknowledgment. There are a number of variations, like "Ussu!" and "Wiisu!"