AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Keeping a hold on wrist? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3369)

AKAKAK 02-06-2003 09:49 PM

Keeping a hold on wrist?

Hello All,

I'm very very new to aikido so please be patient with me. :)

After a few aikido training sessions I have come to wonder a few things. Many of the techniques require uke to hold the wrist without letting go. It seems that when I was practising that my natural reaction was to let go so to avoid a lock, pin, pain etc. Many times I was asked by nage to keep holding on. Sometimes I was able to, but sometimes my arm and wrist were twisted in a way that it was difficult to hold on so I let go or lose my grip unintentionally.

So my question is this: With regards to the techniques that require uke to "hold on", are these meant to be for practical use? Or are they purely theoretical in that they teach you fundamentals of movement? Or am I completely missing the point to these exercises? :freaky:

Thanks to all!

Cheers,
Andersen

DanD 02-06-2003 11:33 PM

I think that's it's partly made for practice and partly to have the feeling of "committed attacker". One that will hold your wrist till you kokyunage him/her to the mat/ground.

When being an advanced Aikidoka - doing it quick will probably do the throw part so fast that the holding/twisting time period will be just a transition to a happy end (hopefully a "gentle" throw):)

Just my 2 cents.

Edward 02-07-2003 12:35 AM

Beside what Dan mentioned, most of wrist grabs originate from old samurai days when the grab is supposed to stop you from drawing your sword. Obviously if uke lets go of nage's hand, he will be cut down. So even a painful lock is better than a sword slash.