AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Training post Herniated Disk Surgery? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11275)

Phischy 11-08-2006 12:00 PM

Training post Herniated Disk Surgery?

First time posting here, although I've been reading this board for the past 2 or so years.

I'm Uchi Deshi at my dojo for the past year. I've been training intensely for the past 2+ years. 6 days a week, all classes, even before I lived there. Back in Janurary I herniated a disk (L5-S1) lifting a TV. I thought at the time I just pulled all the muscels in my back, had some pain killers and I eventually tested for my Nikyu 3 weeks later. Not the prettiest of tests since I was still in some pain.

Pain went away, I returned to my regular training schedule until July '06. Did a weekend seminar that involved a LOT of twisting of the torso independant of the hips. Guest instructor was emphasizing how to stand from a seated position w/o using your hands/arms to get up in a 'ready' position. Not what we normally train in at my ASU school but it was fun none-the-less. Pain started up to the point the following week I could barely stand.

Over several doctor and chiropractor visits and then via X-Ray and MRI it was discovered I've got a bulging L4-L5 disk and a herniated L5-S1 disk. The herniation is a 'monster' according to my doc, and is approx 1.5cm is length. It's not hitting my spinal bundle (not a cord at this point in the back) but is hitting a root nerve that controls feeling to my right leg. So I have weakness in my calf, shooting pain and tingling in my toes from time to time.

I've been off the mat since July, doing gym workouts and hopeing things will improve. They have not and several expidition returns to the mat have proven I cannot train with this injury.