AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Signals (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=595)

taro 02-23-2001 01:13 PM

"Watch not his flashing blade
Nothing can be seen there
His fists will reveal where he intends to cut"
(O'Sensei)

I've recently discovered that there has been a considerable amount of scientific research into the subject of deception detection(i.e. microexpressions, body-language, non-verbal linguistic behaviour etc.). I'm wondering if anyone has come across specific information on how to interpret similar non-verbal cues to detect aggression that a potential attacker would exhibit. I am particularly interested to learn specific cues that would reveal the nature and initial movement of specific types of attacks.

I am sure it is obvious to some(if not most) that I am a beginner in this art. I understand that I will probably learn this skill instinctively once I develop a higher degree of sensitivity, however, I am compelled my analytical nature to inquire about it now. I apologize if this topic has already been discussed. If so, I would appreciate it if someone could direct me to it.

Thanks.

BC 02-23-2001 02:58 PM

I think you answered your own question. Yes, people believe it's possible, but it can take years to develop this ability.

An old saying relates to this:

"The eyes are the windows to a man's soul."

DiNalt 02-23-2001 03:16 PM

Quote:

BC wrote:
I think you answered your own question. Yes, people believe it's possible, but it can take years to develop this ability.

An old saying relates to this:

"The eyes are the windows to a man's soul."

... Unless you're nearsighted !

BC 02-23-2001 04:14 PM

Sure they are!

"Warning: Objects viewed through these eyes may be clearer than they appear."

taro 02-24-2001 11:25 AM