AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Non-Aikido Martial Traditions (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   kendo, Iaido and aikido (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12430)

pugtm 04-23-2007 02:54 PM

kendo, Iaido and aikido

Im a kendoka thinking about taking aikido. So i have some question first of all will it help me at all either way. Two should i just focus on one disciplin or both. I also heard that you need to learn kendo for aikido so i was just wondering. Oh yeah one more question assuming i am taking it how long does it take to master the basics and really get into it? For example in kendo it will take two years for me to get bogu and actaully start sparring but in Iai i got into it pretty quickly. Also will i need a new gi and hakama or will i be able to use my kendogi?
Please excuse me if i am not coming across clearly or if i appear ignorant. i have no knowledge of aikido so i thought i would ask.

ChrisMoses 04-23-2007 03:13 PM

Re: kendo, Iaido and aikido

While many aikido dojos do some 'swordwork' none require kendo training. If you've learned the kendo no kata however, this will make picking up aiki-ken a relative breeze. For equipment, you'll most likely need to get a judo-gi, most places have people train without hakama until shodan. As for getting the basics and doing aikido, you will be able to participate in every aspect of aikido class much faster than you do in kendo. There isn't the same hanging out in the back of the room doing suburi like you see in kendo. In a couple months, you'll be in the thick of things with everyone else.

Kent Enfield 04-23-2007 05:56 PM

Two years to get into bogu? That's a long time, even by conservative standards.