AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Weapons (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Making your own bokken/tanto etc. (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19247)

Lari Hammarberg 01-16-2011 05:45 PM

Making your own bokken/tanto etc.

Onegashimasu.

I decided to save some money and make some practice weapons myself. I have a lot of experience with woodwork with lot of detail. I make traditional Finnish instruments as a hobby and for use with our band so i'm all set for making bokkens and stuff...

I'm going to buy wood for them tomorrow. Most probably hickory, was it called tool grade hickory, the really tough stuff. At least it's called that in Finnish. I did some research and found our that hickory and japanese white oak seem to be some good choises for wood.

How about the measurements? *The bokken i bought is usual 102cm long and the tsuka is little bit too short for my taste so i thought i'll make the new ones with ~5cm longer blade and ~7cm longer tsuka.

I have already read the instructions at AikidoFAQ, so i know how to get started... Do some of you guys have some experience of building your own weapons? Any hints, tips, advice?

Michael Varin 01-16-2011 09:02 PM

Re: Making your own bokken/tanto etc.

Hello Lari,

I really don't know much about woodworking.

The bokken I buy are 41 in (104 cm) overall, blade around 30 in (76 cm). I think the longer tsuka is a good call. Most bokken I've seen are between 9 and 11 in (23 - 28 cm), but I think around 14 in (35 cm) would be much better.

This is really a matter of personal taste, but you might want to consider making it with a non-pointed kissaki, in other words, a flat tip. I prefer it for training.

It'd be nice to see how it turns out. Maybe you can post some pictures when you are done. Also, I'd be curious to know how much it cost for materials and about how much time it took.

Good luck with your project.