AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   A small victory along the greater path.. (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3852)

Daniel Mills 05-15-2003 01:57 AM

A small victory along the greater path..

Insignificant to most I know, but nonetheless I felt compelled to document this momentus occasion ;)

Last night I participated in the ukemi drills with the rest of the dojo for the first time, ever :D

This is all, I told you it was insignificant :blush:

However..

YAY! :D

Best,

-390lb of rolling mass (also known as Daniel..)

:rolleyes:

:D

Jeff Tibbetts 05-15-2003 02:10 AM

Sorry, maybe I missed another post. How long have you been training? Just to put that into perspective... I guess it wouldn't seem like as big of a deal if this was your second practice :)

Daniel Mills 05-15-2003 02:39 AM

I started training on the 10th of April, been training thrice weekly ever since.

I'm a big guy (circa 390lbs or so) so I've been working on my ukemi on our second mat with a senior student since, just building up confidence and all, whilst the rest of the dojo ran through the drills on our primary mat :)

-D.

Jeff Tibbetts 05-15-2003 02:44 AM

I see. That's what I was looking for. Well, for what it's worth, "congratulations." I hope that that sense of accomplishment continues to come to you every time you train. I was shocked when I realized that feeling like part of the group felt so good, I always thought I was something of a non-conformist. Hopefully you feel good to be a closer part of your group :)

Daniel Mills 05-15-2003 02:50 AM

Like I said, to most it'll just be an insignificance, but it was really was overcoming something of a minor hurdle for me, hence my inane and excited posting :)

PeterR 05-15-2003 02:58 AM