AikiWeb Aikido Forums

AikiWeb Aikido Forums (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php)
-   Techniques (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Why is it Ushiro Tekubitori? (http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24931)

langenoir 08-23-2016 02:07 PM

Why is it Ushiro Tekubitori?

Hi, I'm new to Aikido. I've been trying to get all the terms down because Sensei said if you know the terms you can probably figure out the technique.

Last night we did a few techniques like this:

Ushiro Tekubitori Shihonage
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYITyRxvmoo

Also Ushiro Tekubitori into Kotegaeshi and Ikkyo.

My question is why is it Ushiro Tekubitori instead of Ushiro Ryotetori? I know little to no Japanese so if this is obvious I'm sorry.

edshockley 11-21-2016 05:04 PM

Re: Why is it Ushiro Tekubitori?

There were no computer movements when I started so I got books. Every Sunday Shihan Henry Smith (6th dan) or Nizam Taleb (6th dan) also would take any question at 12:00 pm and let me try for at long as I needed to understand a thought. Now that Youtube.com or Facebook.com are free it may be easier to look at several teachers doing the same "Ushiro tekubitori..." movements then work with a friend. (There always are both kyu or dan every day at most aikidos). I did ask your question when I as just a 5th kyu with my son on a Tuesday morning. Since we did not yet know how to fall well the Shihan thru the 3rd kyus. I get the answer but I felt bad. The friend had to get hit or throw rather than me. "The sword teaches everything."

rugwithlegs 11-21-2016 09:26 PM

There are some choices of Japanese terms that I suspect were chosen for more European derived benefit - there is little chance in the midst of a test that a non-Japanese speaker will confuse ryotedori and ushiro tekubidori.